2015 Adventure Review

As 2016 is getting started, I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting, as I’m sure many of you have.

I was inspired by this 2015 Year in Review post from my friends at Pure Adirondacks. I enjoyed seeing what they were up to last year and thought it would be fun to do my own!

I’m so lucky to live so close to the Adirondack Mountains and have so many opportunities for adventures. Here’s what I was up to last year:

 January

Guess I had a busy start to the year because I didn’t make it out for any adventures.

February

February was a very snowy month and I got out a few times to enjoy the fresh powder.

I headed out during a snow storm with my friends Marguerite, Rachael and Portia to Thomas Mountain. Just getting to the trailhead in my little Scion XD (without snow tires) was a challenge, but the hike was perfect. So much soft, fresh snow!
2015-02-08 11.09.54

I remember most clearly how cold it was the day my friend Alex and I climbed Prospect Mountain. Trying to do anything in these giant (but super warm) mittens is hilariously frustrating.

2015-02-09 12.53.39 HDR

Sleeping Beauty on Lake George is a fairly easy hike. Alex and I decided to go for the loop, quickly finding out that the trail hadn’t been broken past the summit. Fresh snow was sometimes up to our knees, even with snowshoes. Trees were down and trail markers were at times difficult to find. But it was so serene and quiet, like we were in our own winter wonderland. It was one of my favorite parts of the whole year.

2015-02-22 15.05.44

March

Alex and I headed to the High Peaks in March to tackle Cascade, a mountain I had already climbed three times previously, but never in winter conditions. Although cloudy, it was a beautiful day with more fresh snow from that morning and the night before. We were the first ones on the trail that day… one of my favorite things is an unbroken trail! The wind whipped up as we headed to the summit and was about 30mph when we reached the top. We held tight to our gear and laughed a ton at how exciting it was. Here’s a short video I took:

April

Another windy and viewless day in the High Peaks, as Alex, my boyfriend Andrew and I headed up Algonquin Peak. Although the weather was warming up, there was still a ton of snow at higher elevation. It was a really fun day and we had excellent butt sliding on the way down the mountain – one of the best parts about winter hiking.

2015-04-06 11.32.57

And then Andrew and I finally got a gorgeous day with views on one last High Peaks adventure before mud season began. It was my third time climbing Giant Mountain, a seemingly never ending straight up hike. At the time it seemed like the longest three miles of my life. Navigating the alternating slushy snow, mud and ice was well worth the views we were awarded that day.

2015-04-13 14.11.49

Retreating back to the lower elevations of the Lake George area to avoid mud season in the High Peaks, Alex and I hiked the Black Mountain loop on a beautiful clear day. This is one of the best views in our area!

2015-04-19 11.40.39 HDR

 

May

I started May out with a gorgeous warm weather hike of Fifth Peak in the Tongue Range of the Southeastern Adirondacks with my sister, Ashley.

2015-05-03 12.20.34 HDRLater on that month, Andrew and I went to check out the beaver activity at Berry Pond. While I didn’t see any beavers in action, their lodges and workshops were everywhere. So interesting!

2015-05-17 14.47.16

June

Another slow month for outdoor adventures. 🙁

July

In July Andrew and I joined his sister, Marguerite, and her husband, Nick, camping in Minerva. It was a beautiful spot right on the junction of the Boreas and Hudson Rivers.

2015-07-23 13.11.44 HDR

August

Spent a week in August with Andrew and my family in Ocean City, NJ. We relaxed and played in the water. And ran just about every day.

2015-08-10 08.11.39

September

I spent my summer mostly running instead of hiking, because I was planning on running with the amazing Strong Hearts Vegan Power team in the Ragnar Adirondack relay race. Running those two days wearing the SHVP top proclaiming on the back “VEGAN for my health, for the earth, but most of all FOR THE ANIMALS” was one of the proudest moments of my life. I made so many new friends over that weekend and I’m excited to continue my running career, and I’m looking forward to Ragnar Cape Cod in May, when I’ll reunite with some of the best people I know.

shvp1

 

October

After a long summer away from my favorite mountains, Alex and I returned to the Adirondack High Peaks to climb Phelps (which I had climbed twice before) and Tabletop for the first time. Winter was already showing signs in the High Peaks and there was a lot of ice on the trail once we got higher in elevation. But it was a beautiful day and we enjoyed the views.

2015-10-19 12.00.47

I also went on a two night camping trip with my friends Marguerite, Gretchen and Chelsea in the Lake George Wild Forest. The nights were freezing, but the days were gorgeous and the campfire was warm and relaxing.

2015-10-26 22.16.22-1

November

My last High Peaks adventure of 2015 was an almost 14 mile hike up Rocky Peak Ridge, which took Alex and I over a couple of other mountains on the way. It was a long and tiring day, but this hike was mostly open and had views almost the entire way.

2015-11-29 12.45.58 (1)

December

I visited the SUNY ESF Pack Demonstration Forest with Andrew, his sister Marguerite and their mom for a nice wilderness walk where we saw the 300+ year old Grandmother’s Tree.

2015-12-30 12.25.23

And that was my year! What adventures did you go on last year? Leave a comment below and let me know!

And if you’d like to receive emails keeping you in the loop about all things outdoorsy and vegan, leave your email here: